How to Delete Files from your Computer Safely & Permanently

1
How to Delete Files from your Computer Safely & Permanently

Hello Geeks, how are you doing? Today, we have come with a solution to one of the most asked questions in our blog about how to permanently delete stuff from a computer. As we all know, a simple delete doesn’t really erase the files and folders from your computer permanently. They are actually stored in cache memory that can be easily recovered using any data recovery software. It doesn’t matter how well and high specification computer you own, as time goes on, the computer will get slow and the performance will go lower and lower. So, one of the solution is to get rid of unused and trash data out from your computer and make some room on your PC to breath. In this guide, we will show you how to delete files from your computer permanently beyond forensic recovery. This tip is also useful if you are trying to sell or donate your computer to a total stranger. This way they won’t be able to recover any sensitive data from your computer.

So, the question stand on how to delete files from computer permanently that can never be restored. Well, never fear as usual we do have a solution for this issue. That’s where BCWipe by Jetico comes into play.

What is BCWipe?

Trusted for over 10 years by the U.S. Department of Defense, BCWipe is a software that helps to remove all data and files from your computer safely and permanently. The deletion process is irreversible and deleted data cannot be recovered using any data recovery tool. The software uses powerful wiping schemes to delete your data and it makes sure to remove the data from the cache memory as well so that no sensitive or personal data is stored on your computer. Here, let me explain the top features of BCWipe so that you can understand this software better.

Main Features of BCWipe:

  1. Permanently delete all files and folders from your computer that cannot be restored using any data recovery tool.
  2. Remove internet browsing history.
  3. Wipe free space to permanently remove all traces of previously deleted files.
  4. Automatically erase all contents of any deleted file or temporary file with transparent wiping, a unique feature of BCWipe.
  5. Schedule wiping tasks.
  6. View logs to see which operationsand files were deleted.
  7. Lifetime license (updates, upgrades and technical support are available for free for the first year. After the first year, you can purchase a renewal license).
  8. Dedicated support staff to assist you with any issue
  9. Supported in Windows, Mac and UNIX operating system.

How to use BCWipe to wipe files from your Computer

Step 1. Firstly, download the software from the official website and install it on your PC. The installation process is quite self-explanatory. Simply read the instruction and install the software. Next, reboot your computer.

Step 2. Next, right-click on any file; you will  see the option “Delete with Wiping”. Simply click on it.

13

Step 3. After you click on it, you will be prompted with few options. If you are deleting multiple files then click on “Yes to all”. If you don’t want to delete a specific file then click on “Skip” and click on “More >>” to set up wiping settings. If you wish to terminate the process, click on “Cancel”..

14

Step 4. When you click on “Yes” or “Yes to All” then the deletion process will be initiated. You can leave the computer to finish the process or you can work in the background and it will not interrupt the process.

15

How to use BCWipe to Wipe Free Space

As I said at the beginning, a simple delete doesn’t really erase the files and folders from your computer permanently. To make sure all traces of previously deleted files are gone forever, run “Wipe Free Space”

Step 1. Right-click on any drive; you will see the option “Wipe Free Space with BCWipe”. Simply click on it.`

Step 2. If you are trying to run wipe free space on a system drive, you will be asked for administrator privileges. If you select “Yes”, the following window will appear. If you select “No”, you will be asked for elevation. If you select “No” again, then the following window will appear but with some limitations. In addition, if your Recycle Bin is empty, a dialog box will appear and you will be asked to clean it.

11

Step 3. Adjust the wiping options. Once ready select “OK”.

More detailed instructions can be found here

Conclusion:

In this short tutorial, we just demonstrated how to permanently wipe files from your computer that can never be recovered again. If you have any issue, then head on to the official website and contact their technical support to get full assistance.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This